HOME PAGE :: ABOUT ABATE :: CHAPTERS :: CONTACT US :: EVENTS    
Legislative
  Information Center
  Restore Your Right to Vote
 Getting Started
 Florida Bike Laws
 National Helmet Laws
 Helmet Law FAQ
 

Public Relations &

 Press Releases

Cycle Safety
 Motorcycle Safety
 Safety Video (11 MB)
 Safety Commitment
 MSAP Program
 Safety Posters
 Safety Hand Signals
 Proclamation
 Rider Education
 Bike Crashes
Membership
 President's Letter
 Board Of Directors
 ByLaws
 Mission Statement
 Leadership
  Chapters
  Newsletter
  Silent Scoots
 Products
 Join Us !!
Events
 

Freedom Rights Rally 2014

  Bike Week
  Chance at $10,000!
 Events Page
Resources
  USA MRO's
  WebMaster
   

Our downloadable documents require free Adobe Reader or MS Word 97-2003 (able to be opened with free Open Office)

Get Adobe Reader

 Use OpenOffice.org

Florida Helmet Law FAQ

What do I need to do to be able to legally ride a motorcycle without a helmet in the state of Florida?
You need to be at least 21 years of age and have at least $10,000.00 worth of medical coverage insurance to be able to operate or ride upon a motorcycle without a helmet.

Where can I buy PIP insurance for my motorcycle?
You can't. There is no PIP insurance for motorcycles.

Does my PIP insurance on my car meet the insurance requirements for my motorcycle?
NO, you must have $10,000.00 medical payment insurance or some type of healthcare coverage that does not exclude motorcycles with at least $10,000.00 in coverage.

Which insurance companies offer this type of coverage?
a) Alpha Property and Casualty Insurance - they cover both rider and passenger b) Progressive Insurance Company - they cover both rider and passenger c) Dairyland Insurance

How much does Medical Payment coverage on my motorcycle cost?
The cost of the coverage depends on your driving record.

Do I have to carry liability insurance on my motorcycle?
It is not required but the above companies require you purchase it to get the Medical Payment insurance coverage.

Can I legally wear my novelty helmet?
If you meet the age requirement and have the proper insurance coverage.

Does my health insurance meet the insurance requirements for my motorcycle?
If it does not exclude motorcycles and has at least $10,000.00 in healthcare benefits. If in doubt request a Certificate of Coverage from your insurance company.

My wife is covered under my company's health insurance, but her name is not on our health insurance card. How does she prove she has insurance?
Carry the top page of your policy that states her name or that it covers family members. If in doubt request a Certificate of Coverage from your insurance company.

Does my VA Benefits meet the insurance requirements for my motorcycle?
Only if you are retired or 100% disabled. Contact your local VA office for confirmation of your coverage.

Does Medicare or Medicaid meet the insurance requirements for my motorcycle?
Yes. If in doubt request a Certificate of Coverage from your insurance company.

Does my passenger have to have his or her own insurance?
Not if your insurance covers both you and the passenger. If it doesn't then the passenger needs to have his or her own insurance coverage.

If I'm not a resident of Florida, what do I need to ride without a helmet in Florida?
You need to be at least 21 years of age and have at least $10,000.00 worth of medical coverage insurance to be able to operate or ride upon a motorcycle without a helmet.

Will the police stop me for not wearing a helmet?
They have stated that they would not stop someone for just a helmet violation, unless they feel they do not meet the age requirement.

Approved Motorcyclist Helmet List from the Florida Highway Patrol
http://www.fhp.state.fl.us/html/helmet.html

DISCLAIMER: The information above is provided for educational purposes only and is not legal advice.